Dennis And I Were Married This Morning!

March 4, 2009 at 7:55 am 4 comments

This morning, at 11:45 am New York Time, Dennis and I became husband and wife. I still can’t believe we actually pulled it off. We are so excited, happy and exhausted. We are back home in Brighton now after our grueling 16 hour trip back home. Dennis and I are extremely jet lagged. He is in bed sleeping and I am just kind of wandering the house like a zombie. I can’t sleep, but I sure wish I could.

nydennis

Dennis and I decided to have a New York wedding after we discovered the astronomical fees associated with having a wedding in the UK if you happen to not be citizens of resident. I understand the rules and procedures immigration has in place, but we both feel the huge fees are very unnecessary. Our hearts both sank when we started adding up the fees, and discovered the huge waiting period required to simply obtain permission marry. Dennis joked that we could probably get less expensive tickets to New York, and marry at the Clerk’s Office in Manhattan. Well, to our surprise that statement was accurate. We found very affordable tickets on Air India. We quickly booked them, and we were off on this adventure of ours.

bluemoon

We stayed at the Blue Moon Hotel NYC in Manhattan, and ate our pre-wedding dinner at a fabulous Italian restaurant called Tré. Our experience with Blue Moon Hotel NYC was absolutely fantastic. Everything was perfect! They truly made our stay a very happy and memorable one. Tré served us the best dinner Dennis and I have every had. That is not an exaggeration. The owner went so far as to create a wine menu in which every wine on the list pairs well with whatever dish you order. If you ever get a chance to visit this establishment try the Tiramisu. Best I have ever had!

tre

Additionally, if you ever get a chance to travel Air India certainly take the opportunity. The experience with this crew and the airline was outstanding. The crew was helpful and attentive, and the lunch was the best I have had on an airplane. I would definitely fly Air India if I had the choice. It was the best service I have every received from an airline. Additionally, Dennis and I would love to thank Barbara and Craig for being our witnesses. If it wasn’t for their kindness we would never have pulled this off. All of these folks put together certainly made our trip very enjoyable and memorable. Thank you very much to all of you for your kindness, support and blessings.

airindia2

The entire trip was fabulous. We even had the biggest snow storm that has hit New York in five years during our stay. It will certainly be a memorable time for more reasons than the obvious one.

nysnow

Photos via Blue Moon Hotel NYC, Air India and Tré New York

Entry filed under: Sam & Dennis, Travel, Wedding. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Sustainable Refrigeration: TED Talk by Adam Grosser Two More Days Until The Party!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Syed & Thanveer  |  April 24, 2009 at 7:27 am

    Nice write up Sam. Happy married life.

    Syed

    Reply
    • 2. Sam H.  |  April 24, 2009 at 10:48 am

      Oh my goodness! Thank you Syed and Thanveer. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Dennis Groves  |  April 24, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Where are the pictures of my lovely bride?

    Dennis

    Reply
    • 4. Sam H.  |  April 24, 2009 at 10:49 am

      There weren’t any good pictures of me so I didn’t post them. :p

      Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds

Blog Stats

  • 64,357 hits